D.P.S. Program Outline & Requirements


21 courses are required for the diploma.  With the approval of the program director, up to 8 of the 21 courses may be taken at the undergraduate level. 

All students are required to maintain an electronic portfolio that documents their progress through their programs.


  • A 18-hour seminar in academic skills entitled "Introduction to Philosophical Studies" given over the course of 6 days in late August.

Philosophy Courses: 10 Units

  • The precise courses that fulfill the philosophy distribution requirements will be determined each year by the program director/academic advisor.
  • 4 units in the history of philosophy; one from each of the different historical periods:
    • Ancient
    • Medieval
    • Early Modern
    • Contemporary
  • 4 units in different philosophical disciplines:
    • Philosophy of God
    • Philosophy of Human Nature
    • Epistemology
    • Ethics
  • 2 units of electives in Philosophy

Theological Courses: 3 Units

  • RGT1101HF: Foundations of Theology
  • RGB1501HF: Introduction to the New Testament
  • RGB1005HS: Introduction to the Old Testament

Elective Courses: 6 Units

  • In theology, social sciences, or a second language

Integrative Seminar: 2 Unit

  • A final integrative seminar in which the student prepares a 30-page paper, which will be defended orally in the first week of June.


Diploma in Philosophical Studies (D.P.S.)